Can a Woman Become a Pastor?

By George A. Boyd ©2023

Q: I was reading about how the Baptist convention censored Saddleback Church for ordaining a woman as a pastor. Is there some reason that a woman could not perform that role in the Church?

A: This is an instance of “is a penis required for this?” principle. A woman has the exact same chakra system as a man, and can perform exactly the same functions as a man. We refer you to our article in our online Library, “Introducing the Chakra Model” to learn more about this system of chakras of the Subconscious mind. [If you don’t have access to our free online Library of some of our additional articles, you can go here to sign up. Some of our most popular articles, we have placed on our Open Stacks page, and we are adding new articles weekly to our weblog.]

Let’s summarize our chakra model. The eight chakras of the Subconscious mind and their key aspects are listed below:

  1. Base of the spine – survival, health, orientation to the external world
  2. Navel – sexuality and parenting
  3. Solar plexus – education and career
  4. Heart – altruism, service to others, expression of love and compassion in action
  5. Throat – creativity, expression of the Soul’s gifts
  6. Point between the eyebrows – intuitive connection with the Soul, attunement and ministry
  7. Brain – gaining wisdom from experience, learning the lessons of life
  8. Transcerebral – experience of the Soul on its own Plane, mystic union, enlightenment, Gnosis

As a woman or man grows personally and evolves spiritually, she or he progressively activates each of these chakras in turn. As the Soul moves through the Subtle and Planetary bands of the Continuum, its development is mirrored in the chakras of the Subconscious mind—the petals of this system of chakras awaken and she or he gains the ability to utilize powers from selected petals of the chakras that have been opened. [You might not use the abilities of every petal of for each of the chakras; you will only actualize the ones that are germane to your Soul’s expressed purpose—the aspect of your Soul’s purpose that it manifests in your current human life.]

Either a man or woman can:

  • Take care of survival needs
  • Experience sexuality and participate in parenting
  • Become educated and pursue a career
  • Perform service and charity to support his or her chosen community
  • Express creativity and the gifts of the Soul
  • Meditate and commune with the Soul
  • Gain wisdom from experience
  • Know the Soul directly

In patriarchal societies, women are permitted to only operate through the first and second chakras. This effectively stunts a woman’s personal and spiritual growth.

In Mudrashram®, we recognize that a woman’s birthright is to fully actualize her full personal and spiritual potential. In this perspective, there is nothing to preclude a woman from performing a leadership role in her religious organization, from expressing her creativity, from having a rich spiritual life, and from gaining wisdom and enlightenment.

If we examine the ministerial roles that someone—who has evolved to the top of the First Exoteric Initiation—can adopt across the Seven Rays, we find the following types:

First Ray – The Prophet is someone who channels Divine guidance and inspiration.

Second Ray – The Teacher is someone one who elucidates the scriptures and gives guidelines for moral and upright living.

Third Ray – The Apostle is someone who founds churches and spiritual centers, and brings new followers into the church through evangelism.

Fourth Ray – The Healer is someone who uses the Light of the Holy Spirit to promote physical and emotional healing.

Fifth Ray – The Pastor is someone who adopts a leadership role in the church; ensures that there are regular services; that the needs of the faith community are met; that sufficient donations are received to fulfill the church’s mission; and that there is an organizational plan to fulfill the mission of the church— and may deliver prophecy, teach, evangelize, heal, minister, or carry out the priestly role to administer the sacraments, as the pastor has been given these additional gifts.

Sixth Ray – The Minister is someone who prays to God and invokes the Holy Spirit to minister to members attending church services.

Seventh Ray – The Priest is someone who administers the sacraments of the church and performs prayer, rites and rituals on behalf of the congregation, and for the betterment of the community, the nation, and the world.

A woman can do all of these things: a penis is not required for this!